Father Me

Standard

Brothers & Sisters

Today we take a moment out of our busy lives to remember the fathers. Some fathers throughout history are alive, the vast majority are not. My own dear father moved from this realm at a very young age. I have celebrated his life and his gifts to me and our family many times. Wherever his spirit may be at this time, I am secure in the fact that he, indeed, without question, earned his eternal peace during a lifetime of suffering and charity.

On this morning I am letting him rest, while I concentrate on the joy that fatherhood has brought to my life and how it is the greatest blessing a man might be fortunate enough to accept in life.

I have one spawn, Jackleen Diana Eve, preparing to celebrate her 25th birthday on July 2.
I watched her come into the world, not naturally, but surgically, she was glowing as the nurse held her up and then carried her to the other side of the room.
She has never stopped glowing in my eyes..
Throughout our lives together, I made sure that she never got hurt, that she was as happy as she could be, that her life was an adventure filled with mystery and possibility. During this time, we both grew, and got smart.
I have never raised my voice to her, never even thought of hitting or spanking, she has never once done anything to cause me pain.
I have told her countless times that if I could have had a catalog of all the babies to choose from, I would have picked her out of all of them.
I made sure that she was physically active and well educated, that she matured with a true knowledge and appreciation of art, history, culture, philosophy, and world religions.
I did this free of charge, without asking for, or requiring or expecting anything in return.
The truth is, what I have received in return is the greatest gift a man could ever receive.

Jackleen is living on the west coast now. She is a working keyboard musician, poet, and in my opinion, a living saint.

If I could make one selfish wish, it would be that I may enjoy 25 more years of life with her.

Love

http://www.joekiddandsheilaburke.com

6 19 16 fathers day 1

Leave a Reply

